Adult Forum

stained-glass-25-2

9:30 a.m.
Parish Hall

Some might refer to this as “Adult Sunday School.” However, Adult Forum has two distinct features, setting it apart from most Sunday school classes: guest speakers and lively discourse! Adult Forum is conveniently held at 9:30 a.m. between  services in the Parish Hall. All adults and High School students are welcome to join in in this very special form of Christian fellowship and education.

 

Sunday, September 10
Welcome and Schedule Overview

Sunday, September 17
Shalom/Peace
Peter W. Ochs, PhD
Edgar M. Bronfman Professor of Modern Judaic Studies at the University of Virginia

Sunday, September 24
Social Justice and the Pope
Michael F. Suarez, S.J.
Director of Rare Book School, Professor of English, University Professor and Honorary Curator of Special Collections at the University of Virginia

Sunday, October 1
Lived Experience: The Intersections of Identity in our Daily Lives
Jacob “Jake” Bennet
Fourth year doctoral candidate at the Curry School of Education

Sunday, October 8
Jacob “Jake” Bennett
How Whiteness Has Played a Role in the Structural Nature of Oppression
Fourth year doctoral candidate at the Curry School of Education

Sunday, October 15
Theodicy
David Bentley Hart
American Orthodox Christian philosophical theologian

Sunday, October 22
Theodicy Follow-Up Session
The Adult Formation Committee and the Rev. Richard A. Lord

Sunday, October 29
Gracious Uncertainty – Faith in the Second Half of Life
The Rev. Dr. Jane Sigloh

Sunday, November 5
The Carpenter’s Kids

Sunday, November 12
The Eucharist, Part I
The Rev. Canon Henry N.F. Minich

Sunday, November 19
Annual Parish Meeting

Sunday, November 26
Advent Wreath Workshop

Sunday, December 3
The Eucharist, Part II
The Rev. Canon Henry N.F. Minich

Sunday, December 10
Holiday Social – Coffee, Conversation and Caroling

Sunday, December 17
Christmas Pageant

Sunday, December 24
Christmas Eve Services

Adult Formation Resumes January 7, 2018